Our Biodiversity assets encompass the full variety of life found in our region, including all species of plants, animals, fungi, microorganisms and the ecosystems in which they live.

A well-functioning ecosystem can support the full complement of its biodiversity, is more resilient to change and contributes to a range of ecosystem services. By contrast, poorly functioning ecosystems lose biodiversity and other resources such as soil, water and nutrients, leading to the local extinction of species.

By protecting and conserving areas that support biodiversity, the diversity of genes, species, communities, and ecosystems is also maintained. It is the suite of species and ecosystems that provide the services for our health and well-being, including clean water, air, shelter, and food.

Many agencies and individuals are working to protect and maintain Tasmania’s high value habitat for threatened species, important biodiversity areas and ecological communities, and we are working with partners to achieve shared strategic outcomes.

A snapshot of Tasmania’s biodiversity assets


Parks and Reserves


Commonwealth-listed Communities


State-listed Communities


Listed Plants and Animals


National Parks

Biodiversity Themes


Threatened species include species listed under the EPBC Act and TSP Act. Important species recognises that there are regionally or locally important species, as well as emerging threatened species.


Threatened ecological communities include the communities listed under the EPBC Act and NC Act. Regionally or locally important and emerging priority ecological communities are also recognised.


Important biodiversity areas are significant because they are home to a diversity of biota and include formally recognised sites such as World Heritage Areas, important reserves, recognised biodiversity hotspots or Key Biodiversity Areas.


Threatened species are those that are at risk of extinction in their natural habitat and are listed under state or Commonwealth legislation to support their protection. Tasmania has over 680 species (fauna and flora) listed under the TSPA Act. The majority of these occur within the southern region. This includes migratory, resident and endemic fauna, and many endemic flora species that are only found in our region.

All native species in southern Tasmania (threatened or otherwise) are facing a suite of often inter-connected challenges, resulting in declines in condition or extent.

NRM South aims to support appropriate management of the region’s native species, focusing on species in decline or requiring urgent intervention. By investing in the management of multiple species (and catchments, communities and priorities identified under other Themes), NRM South aims to improve habitat, connectivity and ecosystem health, which will have broader benefits for all species.


Of the 150 identified vegetation communities, 138 occur in the south, covering 76% of the region, ranging from alpine vegetation, rainforests, eucalypt forests and woodland, other forests, heath, scrub, buttongrass plains, moorland, wetlands, swamp and grasslands.

All seven of Tasmania’s Threatened Ecological Communities occur in the southern region (Alpine sphagnum bogs and associated fens, Eucalyptus ovata – Callitris oblonga forest, Giant Kelp Marine forests of South East Australia, Lowland Native Grasslands of Tasmania, Subtropical and Temperate Coastal saltmarsh, Tasmanian Forest and Woodlands dominated by black gum or Brookers gum and Tasmanian white gum wet forest). These communities are subject impacts such as climate change, habitat loss and degradation, invasive species and diseases. NRM South aims to support appropriate, informed management of the region’s complex ecological communities, focusing on areas that require immediate attention.


Our region is an internationally recognised area of exceptional environmental significance. It includes pristine to near-pristine river systems and lakes, rich flora and fauna – including many species endemic to Tasmania – as well as complex, geo-diverse landscapes. It contains the world heritage areas of the Tasmanian Wilderness World Heritage Area (TWWHA) and Macquarie Island, as well as seven national parks, one nationally-recognised biodiversity hotspot (Midlands) and terrestrial, estuarine and marine ecosystems with high levels of biodiversity.

In addition to these reserved areas more than 50,000 ha of private land has been protected through the establishment of formal management agreements, including approximately 250 conservation covenants. However, significant biodiversity values, including nationally and state-recognised threatened ecological communities, and threatened species and their habitats, remain under-reserved.

Through implementation of key Actions, NRM South aims to support appropriate management of the region’s important biodiversity areas, and the important ecosystem services and biodiversity values within them. Actions focus on increasing the adoption of management practices that enhance the adaptive capacity to be resilient to impacts associated with past land management and climate change.